Off The Grid

Hello my fellow Earthlings!  I acknowledge the title is a bit dramatic so please allow me to explain.. I have come to the decision that I will be deleting all social media from my phone effective January 1st. I am logging off for an entire year. You heard me right. I will be removed from the social media scene for 365 days. 52 weeks. 12 months. No Facebook, Instagram, or Snapchat. I am sure most are wondering how I came to this decision. This semester I began to fast from social media for different lengths of time and for different reasons. Initially it was Snapchat which I realized I wasted too much of my already dwindling free time on. Eventually I deleted everything for two weeks. So many things became clear to me during that time.

I saw what habits had formed according to my social media usage that I had never realized. Anytime I felt anxious or  uncomfortable I would mindlessly unlock my phone and scroll to where the deleted app used to be. It had become my diversion from reality. Seemingly harmless in a lot of ways but this was not my only realization. I found myself in this habitual pattern of checking Snapchat to see who had seen my story and wondering what thoughts people had of me based on the content I shared and  what aspects of my life I carefully chose to reveal through my story. I hated how much I cared about how my life appeared to others through social media. Let’s be honest with ourselves and admit that  most of us have spent a excessive amount of time editing a picture and writing a witty or clever caption for instagram posts. The end goal of these efforts? To fabricate a specific image of myself. I created the illusion of what I wanted my life to look like.

It didn’t end there. The point is that I found validation in this and with my people pleasing nature this was bound to escalate. I enjoyed being free of the temptations to compare myself and measure my life lived by any other standard than a Godly one. It became easier to do that when I was not constantly reminded of all the ways I didn’t measure up to the standards of the world. I liked myself and my life a lot better when I was without social media for a while. It is a lot easier to have a Godly mindset when you aren’t being ambushed and influenced by the world daily through your Instagram and Facebook feed.

I think in a lot of ways we all seek to have an outlet through which we can share our views and experiences and life in general with others. I think there can be many positive aspects to this. I think for me personally I enjoy compiling my thoughts and ideas and photos and whatever else in one place even if it is just a place for me to scroll down memory lane. Social media was my way of doing that, however I think I can accomplish the same thing on this little space and also remain blissfully unaware of who sees any of the things I post and what others send into cyber space. So heres to a 2017 full of growth and the renewing of my mind.(I need it)

Romans 12:2 – Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Colossians 3:2 – Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.

Philippians 4:8 – Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

